Schengen Area

Schengen Area

Schengen Visa Services
Full Application Support & Visa Advice.

Click Below To Get Started

The Schengen Area is the term used for a zone or area in Europe in which 26 nations of Europe have removed internal borders to allow for the unrestricted movement of people. The “Schengen Agreement,” which ten members signed on the 7th of July, 1985. This treaty established the Schengen Area in Europe. All internal border checks have effectively been abolished.

To start the visa application process please click below

What is a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa is a temporary visa that permits its bearer to travel freely throughout the Schengen area. There are no border restrictions among the 26 countries that make up the Schengen Area (“Schengen States”).

Switzerland, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, the Netherlands, Norway, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden are among these countries.

Countries Not In The Schengen Area

The European countries that are not part of the Schengen zone include:










United Kingdom

Restrictions of a Schengen Visa

You are not allowed to work while on a Schengen visa for another reason. You can still work in the Schengen Area if you have a National (D) Visa for employment reasons issued by one of the Schengen Zone’s 26 European countries.

You cannot study on a typical Schengen visa either, and you will need to apply for a student Schengen visa.

A Schengen Visa only permits travel for short stays of up to 90 days, if you cannot evidence the fact you will return to your home country within 90 days of arriving in the Schengen area then you will not be accepted when submitting your Schengen visa application at the Embassy.

Types of Schengen Visa

The “A” category refers to the Airport Transit Visa, which permits its holder to travel through the Schengen airport’s international zone without entering the Schengen Area. Citizens traveling from one non-Schengen area to another non-Schengen area via a change of planes in a Schengen country airport must get an airport transit visa.

The “C” category refers to a short-term visa that allows its holder to stay in the Schengen Area for a set amount of time, depending on the validity of the visa. This category can be obtained as a single-entry visa, a double-entry visa, or a multiple-entry visa, depending on the holder’s travel purpose.

What can you do with a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa obtained from any Schengen Area member country entitles the holder to free travel across the Schengen Zone, including among European Union Schengen members and EFTA Schengen members, subject to the validity and length constraints of the visa. You may travel for transit reasons, tourism, family & friends, and cultural events.

Various restrictions apply to each visa depending on the type of visa issued by a specific embassy/consulate, as well as the nature of the trip and other relevant factors.

Useful Links

For detailed information on specific parts of the EU visa process, you can refer to the links below to find the answer to your query. If you are unable to find any particular information, please contact us via email.

Which countries is a Schengen visa valid for?

There are 26 Schengen states in Europe. You can see the full list of countries in the Schengen zone above.

People Also Asked...

This depends on a number of things such as whether or not you have had a Schengen visa in the past or how many countries you intend to visit. Generally you first Schengen visa will be issued for the duration of your stay.

You can expect an update on your application within 3 days of submission. You can choose express processing at checkout for a response within 24 hours.

Once you attend your appointment, your visa can take up to 15 working days to be processed by the Embassy.

Visa Applicationsinformation centre

Copyright © 2022 . All rights reserved.

All visa applicants are responsible for the accuracy of their visa application forms and must carefully consider the requirements set out in the visa application forms and complete all application forms fully and truthfully and provide correct and accurate information and documentation in support of their visa. is a private company and is not affiliated with any government body. All processing of your visa will be carried out by a professionally qualified 3rd party legal entity. Any redistribution or reproduction of part or all of the contents in any form is prohibited. Visa Applications Ltd – 11887108.

It is necessary to use/accept cookies on this site to process your application.

NOTE, we do not use tracking or advertising cookies or provide your details to 3rd parties. For more information please refer to our .