The OECD nations are considered to be the world’s most developed countries. They are characterized by high levels of income, education, and healthcare. These nations also have strong economies and are major players in the global economy.

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is an intergovernmental organization of 38 member countries, founded in 1961 to stimulate economic progress and world trade. The OECD works to build better policies for better lives by providing a forum in which governments can share experiences and seek solutions to common economic, social, and environmental challenges.

What countries are OECD nations?

There are 38 total OECD nations: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia , Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States.

OECD’s mission

The OECD nations are committed to promoting economic growth, social progress, and environmental protection. They work together to develop policies that will help them achieve these goals. The OECD also provides a forum for sharing information and best practices, and for resolving common problems.

The OECD is an important organization in the global economy. Its work helps to shape the policies of its member countries and to promote economic growth and prosperity around the world.

The benefits of being an OECD nation

Most OECD nations allow for relatively free travel between their respective countries, for example all members of the OECD do not require a visa when visiting the UK. Most OECD nations are eligible for the ESTA visa waiver program in the US.

How are new countries added to OECD

The process of adding new countries to the OECD is called accession. The accession process is long and rigorous, and it is designed to ensure that new members meet the high standards set by the OECD.

The first step in the accession process is for the country to express its interest in joining the OECD. The country then needs to complete a questionnaire about its economic, social, and environmental policies. The OECD also conducts a peer review of the country’s policies.

If the OECD is satisfied with the country’s policies, it will invite the country to begin accession negotiations. The accession negotiations can take several years. During the negotiations, the country and the OECD work together to ensure that the country’s policies are compatible with the OECD’s standards.

If the accession negotiations are successful, the country is invited to join the OECD. The new member must then ratify the OECD Convention, which is the treaty that establishes the OECD.

People also asked

When was the last OECD nation added?

The most recent country to join the OECD nations list was Costa Rica. Estonia joined the list of OECD nations on the 25th May 2021

Has a country ever been removed as an OECD nation?

No so far no countries who have been granted OECD nation status has ever lost that title.

Is India an OECD nation?

India is not an OECD nation. However, it is a member of the OECD’s Enhanced Engagement Programme, which is a group of countries that are not yet members of the OECD but are working towards joining.

Are all EU countries OECD nations?

Not all EU countries are in the OECD nations: Albania, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Georgia, Kosovo, North Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Romania, Serbia and Ukraine are not part of the OECD.

Is Russia an OECD nation?

Russia is not an OECD nation. In March 2014, the OECD halted membership talks with Russia in response to its role in the 2014 Annexation of Crimea.

Visa Applicationsinformation centre

Copyright © 2024 . All rights reserved.

All visa applicants are responsible for the accuracy of their visa application forms and must carefully consider the requirements set out in the visa application forms and complete all application forms fully and truthfully. is a private company and is not affiliated with any government body. All support and advice of your visa documentation will be under the guidance of an SRA registered legal practitioner. Visa fees must be paid directly to the relevant consular authority as advised and are not included in our service fees.
Visa Applications Ltd – 11887108.

It is necessary to use/accept cookies on this site to process your application.

NOTE, we do not use tracking or advertising cookies or provide your details to 3rd parties. For more information please refer to our .