The Schengen Area is a collection of 27 European countries that have agreed to abolish all passport and other forms of border control at their shared borders. For foreign travel, the area mainly acts as a single jurisdiction with a common visa policy. The area is named after the Schengen Agreement, which was signed in Luxembourg in 1985.

The Schengen Area includes 23 of the EUs 27 member states. Three of the Four EU states that are not members of the Schengen Area—Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Romania—are legally obligated to join in the future; Ireland, on the other hand, maintains an opt-out and has its own visa regime. Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland are members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), however they are not members of the EU.

They have signed accords in conjunction with the Schengen Agreement. In addition, three European microstates—Monaco, San Marino, and the Vatican City—keep open borders for passenger traffic with their neighbours and are thus considered de facto Schengen Area members because it is practically impossible to travel to or from them without passing through at least one Schengen member country.

The Schengen Area covers 4,312,099 square kilometres and has a population of about 420 million people (1,664,911 sq mi).

Every day, around 1.7 million people commute across an internal European border to work, accounting for up to a third of the workforce in some regions. The overall number of Schengen border crossings each year is 1.3 billion. The transfer of commodities by road accounts for 57 million crossings each year, with a total value of €2.8 trillion.

The cost of commerce is reduced by 0.42 percent to 1.59 percent as a result of Schengen, depending on geography, trading partners, and other factors. Countries outside of the Schengen zone benefit as well. The Schengen Areas member states have tightened border controls with non-Schengen countries.

Visa Applicationsinformation centre

Copyright © 2024 . All rights reserved.

All visa applicants are responsible for the accuracy of their visa application forms and must carefully consider the requirements set out in the visa application forms and complete all application forms fully and truthfully. is a private company and is not affiliated with any government body. All support and advice of your visa documentation will be under the guidance of an SRA registered legal practitioner. Visa fees must be paid directly to the relevant consular authority as advised and are not included in our service fees.
Visa Applications Ltd – 11887108.

It is necessary to use/accept cookies on this site to process your application.

NOTE, we do not use tracking or advertising cookies or provide your details to 3rd parties. For more information please refer to our .