The United Kingdom has officially launched its electronic travel authorization (ETA) scheme for Qatari nationals, marking a significant milestone in streamlining travel procedures for visitors from the Gulf region. This initiative will not only simplify the application process but also provide cost savings for travelers.

Qatari nationals can now obtain an ETA for just £10, significantly lower than the previous Electronic Visa Waiver (EVW) fee of £30. Additionally, the ETA grants unlimited visits to the UK over a two-year period or until the passport expires, offering greater flexibility and convenience for frequent travelers.

Streamlined Application Process

The ETA application process is designed to be straightforward and user-friendly. Applicants can apply online or through the mobile app, providing biographic and biometric information, along with answers to questions related to suitability and criminality. Once approved, the ETA is digitally linked to the applicant’s passport, eliminating the need for physical stickers.

Enhanced Security Measures

Despite the simplified application process, the ETA scheme maintains rigorous security measures to ensure the safety of the UK. The application process includes checks to identify individuals who pose a potential threat to the country’s security, ensuring that only legitimate visitors are granted entry.

Benefits for Qatari Travelers and the UK Tourism Industry

The introduction of the ETA scheme is expected to bring several benefits to both Qatari travelers and the UK tourism industry:

  • Reduced Costs: Qatari nationals will benefit from lower visa fees and the convenience of multiple visits under a single ETA.
  • Smoother Travel Experience: The online application process and digital ETA will streamline the travel experience, reducing delays and paperwork.
  • Boosted Tourism: The ETA scheme is expected to attract more Qatari visitors to the UK, contributing to the growth of the tourism sector.

    Expansion to Other Gulf Nationalities

    The ETA scheme is scheduled to be extended to nationals of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and Jordan from February 22, 2024. These nationalities will be able to apply for ETAs starting from February 1, 2024.


    The UK’s ETA scheme represents a significant step towards modernizing border procedures and enhancing the travel experience for eligible visitors. By simplifying the application process, reducing costs, and providing greater flexibility, the ETA scheme is expected to boost tourism and strengthen ties between the UK and the Gulf region.

    Visa Applicationsinformation centre

    Copyright © 2024 . All rights reserved.

    All visa applicants are responsible for the accuracy of their visa application forms and must carefully consider the requirements set out in the visa application forms and complete all application forms fully and truthfully. is a private company and is not affiliated with any government body. All support and advice of your visa documentation will be under the guidance of an SRA registered legal practitioner. Visa fees must be paid directly to the relevant consular authority as advised and are not included in our service fees.
    Visa Applications Ltd – 11887108.

    It is necessary to use/accept cookies on this site to process your application.

    NOTE, we do not use tracking or advertising cookies or provide your details to 3rd parties. For more information please refer to our .