Work visas
Zimbabwean Temporary Employment Permit
The main permit allowing a foreign national to take up employment in Zimbabwe, applied for through their employer.
Expert reviewed Official guidance referenced
Under review — check current rules
The up-to-12-months validity and renewability are from secondary sources — the official requirements page reviewed does not state a duration; verify.
Important information
Immigration rules and fees can change. This information is for general guidance only and does not constitute legal advice. Always check the latest requirements on the official Zimbabwe government website before you apply.
On this page
- Official name
- Temporary Employment Permit (TEP)
- Route type
- Employment / work permit (combined with residence permit)
- Cost
- USD 500 statutory non-refundable fee, plus USD 300 per dependant
- Per the Department of Immigration fees schedule; extensions also USD 500
- Duration
- Short-term / temporary employment
- Commonly reported as up to 12 months (renewable) — validity not stated on the official page reviewed; confirm with the Department
Who it is for
- Foreign nationals with a job offer from a Zimbabwean employer
- Skilled workers whose role justifies employing a non-citizen
- Employees whose employer will sponsor and lodge the application
Requirements
- Completed residence permit application form (I.F.5)
- Completed temporary employment application form
- Application letter addressed to the Chief Director of Immigration (CDI)
- Certified passport bio-data page
- Two passport-sized photos certified as a true likeness
- Police clearance from country of origin / last residence, not older than six months
- Statutory non-refundable fee of USD 500, plus USD 300 per dependant
How to apply
- The employer initiates the application on the employee's behalf
- Documents are submitted to the Department of Immigration / CDI
- Documents from outside Zimbabwe must be notarised; those from Zimbabwe certified by a Commissioner of Oaths
Official sources
For the most accurate and up-to-date information, always refer to the official government sources.
Verified against official gov.uk sources · last reviewed 2026-08-21. Information only — not legal advice.
